Election 2016 Withdrawing security guard of disqualified 12 laudable - Dr Aning

The Ghana Police Service withdrew the services of its personnel following the announcement their disqualification by the EC Chair Mrs Charlotte Osei on Monday, October 10.

  • Published:
24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

Security Analyst Dr Kwesi Aning has indicated that the withdrawal of police guards assigned to the disqualified presidential nominees is a step in the right direction.

The Ghana Police Service withdrew the services of its personnel following the announcement their disqualification by the EC Chair Mrs Charlotte Osei on Monday, October 10.

READ ALSO:Election 2016 NPP consoles disqualified aspirants

"They don't deserve security detail because they are no more presidential aspirants. The police have done what is right and proper," he told Accra-based Class FM.

"It's about saving money for the state. … Immediately they have been disqualified, they lose the privilege to have that security. … They were ordinary citizens before they became presidential aspirants," he added.

The Police Service earlier revealed it had initiated the process to withdraw the security personnel assigned to the 12 presidential aspirants who were disqualified by the EC from running the race to the flagstaff house.

Speaking on Accra-based Class FM, Superintendent Arthur said: “We have commenced the process of withdrawing the security personnel assigned to the presidential aspirants. …We are going to withdraw them as soon as possible.”

READ MORE:Election 2016 Nduom meets with EC Chairperson

The Electoral Commission (EC) disqualified 12 presidential hopefuls from contesting the presidency citing anomalies like fraudulent signatures, the absence of a required number of signatures, improper filing of nomination forms, among others, as the reasons for their disqualification.

The disqualified nominees are Hassan Ayariga of the All People’s Congress (APC),  Dr Papa Kwesi Nduom representing the Progressive People’s Party (PPP), Dr. Edward Mahama of the People's National Convention (PNC), Nana Konadu Agyemang-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party (NDP), Dr Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party (GCPP) and host of others.

Download our mobile app today.

Android - Google Play Store

iPhone - Apple App Store

Recommended Articles

Recommended Videos

Top Articles

1 Local Government Minister-Designate Alima Mahama justifies sacking ex-MMDCEsbullet
2 New Appointment Nana Addo names Ministersbullet
3 In Accra NPP woman pours soup on NDC supporterbullet
4 New Regions Group kicks against splitting of Volta Regionbullet
5 Profile All you need to know about Samira Bawumiabullet
6 NPP Government Osafo Marfo as Senior Minister unconstitutional...bullet
7 Transition Challenges Two NDC activists killed - Kofi Adamsbullet
8 Ex-gratia Akufo-Addo commends Mahama over bungalow rowbullet
9 Seventh Parliament I was highly confident of becoming...bullet
10 Ministerial Appointments Nana Addo has swerved us -...bullet

Top Videos

1 Election 2016 IGP is an 'asshole' - Ken Agyapongbullet
2 Ghana meets Naija President-elect Nana Akufo - Addo meets Nigeria's Buharibullet
3 The Gambia Mahama touts achievements to ECOWAS leadersbullet
4 New Government Swearing in of Nana Akufo Addo and Dr Bawumiabullet
5 Election 2016 NPP does not want Nana Addo scrutinised – Kwakye Ofosubullet
6 Election 2016 T.B Joshua in Ghana to subvert election 2016 -...bullet
7 Watch Gbese Mantse vows to abdicate if Nana Addo winsbullet
8 "The Minutes" EIU predicts win for NPPbullet
9 Video Tina Mensah beats Obuobia to win Weija-Gbawe...bullet
10 Election 2016 I'll vote for Mahama - Nyaho Tamakloebullet