Appointments NPP did not promise lean government - Information Minister

Mustapha Hamid said the New Patriotic Party (NPP) never promised a lean government when it was in opposition.

  • Published:
Information Minister Mustapha Hamid play

Information Minister Mustapha Hamid

24/7 Live - Subscribe to the Pulse Newsletter!

Information Minister Mustapha Hamid has said President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo never promised a lean government during the electioneering period.

He insisted that the New Patriotic Party (NPP) never promised a lean government when it was in opposition.

READ MORE: Nana Addo releases list of 50 deputy ministers

The President, Nana Akufo-Addo has named 110 ministerial and deputy nominees, some are yet to be vetted and approved by parliament.

"Nowhere did we ever promise a lean government because in our view it is not the leanness or bigness of a government that determines its output or its ultimate performance," Hamid said.

Some Ghanaians have since argued that the ministerial appointments are too many and would be a waste of the tax payer’s money.

Mustapha Hamid noted that "We have had in the history of this country governments that are smaller that have landed this country in bigger debts and bigger mess than governments that have had bigger ministers."

Nana Akufo-Addo's government will work with 46 ministers, 50 deputy ministers, 10 regional ministers, 10 deputy regional ministers.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo has nominated four additional people to serve as ministers of state at the presidency and 50 deputy ministers in his government.

READ ALSO: Nana Addo names deputy ministers

A letter addressed to the speaker of Parliament on Wednesday, March 15, 2017, the president urged parliament to approve the nominees.

Below is the full list:

Minister of State at the Office of the President in charge of Public Procurement – Hon Sarah Adwoa Safo

Minister of State at the Office of the President in charge of Public Procurement – Hon Sarah Adwoa Safo play

Minister of State at the Office of the President in charge of Public Procurement – Hon Sarah Adwoa Safo

READ ALSO: Mahama can never be president again - Owusu-Bempah

Minister of State at the Office of the President – Brian Acheampong

Minister of State at the Ministry of Agriculture – Nurah Gyeile

Minister of State at the Ministry of Education in charge of Tertiary Education – Kwesi Yankah

READ MORE: Nana Addo names four Metropolitan Chief Executives

List of deputy ministers below:

Ministry of Finance – Kwaku Kwarteng, Hon Abena Osei Asare, & Charles Adu Boahen

Ministry of Energy – Hon Owuraku Aidoo, Joseph Cudjoe, Mohammed Amin Anta

Ministry of Local Government and Rural Dev’t – Hon Osei Bonsu Amoah, Collins Ntim, Kwasi Boateng Agyei

Ministry of Information – Hon Kojo Oppong Nkrumah

– Hon Ama Dokuaa Asiamah Agyei

– Perry Curtis Kwabla Okudzeto


Ministry of Agriculture – Hon William Agyapong Quaitoo
– Hon Dr Sagre Bambangi
Hon George Oduro

Ministry of Trade and Industry – Hon Carlos Kingsley Ahenkorah
– Robert Ahomka-Lindsey


Ministry of Roads and Highways – Hon Kwabena Owusu Aduomi

– Hon Anthony N-Yoh Puowele Karbo

Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources – Hon Benito Owusu Bio
– Hon Barbara Oteng Gyasi

READ ALSO: MMDCEs appointment; Group condemns lobbying

Ministry of Works and Housing – Hon Freda Prempeh
– Hon Eugene Antwi

Ministry of Education – Hon Dr Yaw Osei Adutwum – Hon Barbara Ayisi Acher

Office of Attorney General – Godfred Dame

Ministry of Justice – Hon Joseph Dinkiok Kpemka


Ministry of Health – Hon Kingsley Aboagye Gyedu
– Hon Tina Mensah

Ministry of Railways Development – Hon Kwaku Agyenim Boateng
Hon Andy Appiah-Kubi

Ministry of Foreign Affairs and – Hon Mohammed Habbib Tijani
Regional Integration – Charles Owiredu

Ministry of Communications – Hon George Andah

– Hon Vincent Sowah Odotei


Ministry of Water Resources and Sanitation – Hon Patrick Boamah
Hon Michael Yaw Gyato

Ministry of Defence – Hon Maj. Derrick Oduro

Ministry of The Interior – Hon Henry Quartey


Ministry of Environment, Science – Hon Patricia Appiagyei
and Technology and Innovation

Ministry of Regional Reorganisation and – Martin Agyei-Mensah Korsah

Ministry of Transport – Hon Nii Kwartei Titus Glover


Ministry of Employment And Social Welfare – Hon Bright Wireko Brobbey

Ministry of Fisheries And Aquaculture – Hon Francis Kingsley Ato Cudjoe

Ministry of Aviation – Hon Kwabena O. Darko-Mensah

Ministry of Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs – Hon Paul Essien

Ministry of Gender, Children – Hon Gifty Twum Ampofo
and Social Protection


Ministry of Youth And Sports – Pius Enam Hadzide

Ministry of Tourism, Creative Arts And Culture – Hon Dr Ziblim Barri Iddi

Ministry of Monitoring And Evaluation – Hon William Kwasi Sabi

Recommended Articles

Recommended Videos

Top Articles

1 Ministerial Nominees Adwoa Safo, et al face vetting committeebullet
2 Confusion in NDC Kwesi Pratt drops bombshell: 15 interested in NDC...bullet
3 Life after presidency Mahama kick off book tour in universitiesbullet
4 Appointments and Contracts I pity Nana Addo for NPP lobbying - Ken...bullet
5 Ambassadorial Appointments Nana Addo names ambassadors for UK,...bullet
6 Confusion in NDC Greedy friends of Mahama caused NDC's defeat...bullet
7 Ministerial Nominee I am a card bearing member of NPP - Prof...bullet
8 Independence History Mike Oquaye says Nkrumah is not "the...bullet
9 Profile All you need to know about Samira Bawumiabullet
10 REGSEC Coordinator Attack Prez Nana Addo summons...bullet

Top Videos

1 Video What Ghanaians are saying about Agyarko's bribery allegation casebullet
2 New Government Swearing in of Nana Akufo-Addo and Dr Bawumiabullet
3 Election 2016 IGP is an 'asshole' - Ken Agyapongbullet
4 Election 2016 Obinim predicts victory for Nana Addobullet
5 Pulse Xmas video Ringier Ghana Limited end of year party 2016bullet
6 Watch Gbese Mantse vows to abdicate if Nana Addo winsbullet
7 Election 2016 Obinim threatens to rig elections for Mahama,...bullet
8 Election 2016 President Mahama Commissions the Kwame...bullet